New Oddworld Collection Announced, Exclusively For Nintendo Switch

The Nintendo Switch is getting three Oddworld games in one as part of a new trilogy collection.

Credit: Oddworld Inhabitants/Nintendo

The Oddworld Collection will combine New ‘n’ Tasty, Munch’s Oddysee and Strangers wrath into one comprehensive package. Announced on the 1st of April, fans initially thought the collection might have been a prank, especially since all three games are already available for the Switch. However, it turns out that this is a real, physical trilogy of games, exclusively coming to the Switch.

The game’s physical publisher, Microids, has already brought various physical Oddworld games to the Nintendo Switch. This includes special edition variants of each game, which include a keychain, stickers and a lenticular sleeve. While Microid’s new comprehensive collection might seem a little redundant, some players may find it handy having all three games on one cartridge. 

oddworld switch
Credit: Oddworld Inhabitants

Unfortunately, Microids has confirmed that the collection will remain exclusive to the Switch for now. This is sure to be somewhat of an issue for physical collectors, who’d want to have every game in the Oddworld series for one system.

The newest edition to the saga, Oddworld: Soulstorm, is currently a PlayStation and Epic Game Store exclusive. Therefore, it’s unclear whether the Switch will receive a port of the game in the future. 

Credit: Oddworld Inhabitants

If owning the Oddworld series physically isn’t a priority, then you’ll be pleased to know that the Oddworld series is available digitally on Steam and PlayStation. Oddworld New ‘n’ Tasty is also available on Xbox One, and older versions of Munch’s Oddysee and Stranger’s Wrath are playable on the console thanks to backwards compatibility. 

In contrast to the series’ legacy, Oddworld: Soulstorm is currently a digital exclusive. While a physical edition of the game is coming in July, you’ll need to either pay for the game on the Epic Game Store or claim it as part of April’s PlayStation Plus lineup. 

The new Oddworld: Collection will be available on May 27 for Nintendo Switch.

Shop With GameByte!

Don’t forget you can find some of these great games and more through the new GameByte Shop! The GameByte Shop is stocked up with the latest games, merch and accessories. We might even have a new-gen console or two! Sign up to our newsletter to be notified of our console drops. Please note the GameByte Shop is available for UK customers only.

Featured Image Credit: Oddworld Inhabitants/Microids

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: